top of page


January 2024

Kristine England

January 28, 2024

The Fall

Perverted by Language

Led by Mark E. Smith, The Fall was formed at the height of the punk movement in 1976. Undergoing stylistic and personnel changes, the band was always shaped by Smith’s biting lyrics and distinct phrasing. Even into the pot-punk years, the music always had a guitar-driven, razor-sharp edge. The first album to feature his then-wife Brix Smith, Perverted by Language is considered a high point in the group’s legacy.


Gustavo Santaolalla


Argentine composer Gustavo Santaolalla is known for his soundtrack work and collaborations with Marisa Monte, Mercedes Sosa, Café Tacuba, and others. He’s best known for his Academy Award-winning score for Brokeback Mountain, and most recently, the score for HBO’s The Last of Us. His 1998 solo album, Ronroco, introduced the song, “Iguazu,” which has been featured in TV and films, most notably (in my opinion) in Deadwood. Ronroco is being issued for the first time on vinyl.




Quatermass was a Hammond-organ-dominated British prog power trio, consisting of vocalist and bassist John Gustafson, keyboardist J. Peter Robinson, and Mick Underwood on drums.  The group’s eponymous 1970 debut was its sole recording. Underwood had previously performed with Ritchie Blackmore, which may explain the latter deciding to cover the track "Black Sheep of the Family" with Rainbow. The Limited Edition LP has been reissued 180g Crystal Clear Vinyl housed in a gatefold Sleeve with its original artwork by Hipgnosis.

"Black Sheep of the Family"

Bud Powell

The Amazing Bud Powell, Vol. 1

The Amazing Bud Powell Vol. 1 has been reissued as part of Blue Note Records’ Classic Vinyl Series. Powell’s combined 1949 & 1951 sessions feature his trio (Curly Russell and drummer Max Roach) and quintet (with trumpeter Fats Navarro, tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins, bassist Tommy Potter, and drummer Roy Haynes). That’s a lot of legends for one recording, but typical for any Blue Note release in that era. The LP is a mono, all-analog release, and pressed on 180g vinyl.

“Dance Of The Infidels”


Master of Puppets

Metallica’s 1986 landmark third album, Master of Puppets, was reissued on 80g “Battery Brick colored vinyl, featuring the 2017 remastered recording. The record is the last to feature original bassist Cliff Burton and is considered a masterpiece by critics. Many feel it’s the group’s peak achievement (including yours truly). I could use a new copy.

"Disposable Heroes"

bottom of page