top of page


August 2023

Kristine England

August 29, 2023

Joe Strummer and The Mescaleros

Live at Acton Town Hall

This reissue celebrates the 20th anniversary of Joe Strummer’s historic concert in 2002 to benefit firefighters who were on strike at the time. The show took place in November 2002 and marked the first time that Strummer and Clash guitarist Mick Jones had played together in nearly 20 years, sparking rumors of a reunion of the iconic punk band. Sadly, Strummer passed away a little over a month later. Recorded from the mixing console at the show, the recording was disseminated among fans until it was officially released by Hellcat Records a decade later. In addition to this remastered session, the release contains previously unreleased outtakes from Strummer’s final recording sessions with the Mescaleros which were part of Joe Strummer 002: The Mescaleros Years box set.

FEATURED TRACK: “White Riot” and “London Burning”

Willie Nelson


Set in an old movie theater in California, the Teatro sessions were captured by filmmaker Wim Wenders.  Many of the tracks were old tunes that Nelson re-recorded, including “I Never Cared for You.” Joining him on the record was stalwart Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Emmylou Harris, and sister Bobbie (keyboards), and producer Daniel Lanois on guitar and bass. Originally released in 1988, Nelson’s 45th album will be reissued on 180g black vinyl.

FEATURED TRACK: “I Never Cared for You”

Cecil Taylor

Unit Structures

After a four-year break recording as a leader, Cecil Taylor made his Blue Note Records debut with Unit Structures in 1966. A pioneer of the free jazz movement, Taylor brought form and control to his atonal ferocity, no doubt a remnant of his early classical piano studies. Released as part of Blue Notes’ Classic Vinyl Edition series, the 180g vinyl reissue is analog stereo, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes.


General Public

All the Rage and Hand to Mouth (Vinyl Reissues

When the (English) Beat dissolved, vocalists Dave Wakeling and Roger Ranking formed General Public in 1983. Ex-Dexy’s Midnight Runners Mickey Billingham (keyboards) and Andy "Stoker" Growcott  (drums) also joined, along with former Clash guitarist Mick Jones and the Specials bassist Horace Panter. Jones didn’t last long and was out before the recording was completed. The new wave “supergroup” released All the Rage in 1984, featuring the single “Tenderness” (to which Jones had contributed before he left).   The band followed up with Hand to Mouth two years later but unfortunately fizzled out not long after. Both titles have been reissued on 140g black vinyl.

FEATURED TRACK: “Tenderness”

Kurt Vile

Walkin on a Pretty Daze (Vinyl Reissue)

Ten years ago, Kurt Vile released his first double album (and fifth overall), Walkin on a Pretty Daze. The record received high marks from a number of critics from All Music, Pitchfork, NME, and others and Spin numbered the featured track among its best songs of 2013. To celebrate the anniversary, Matador Records has reissued the album as part of its Revisionist History series. The special edition reissue has been pressed on blue and yellow, split-colored vinyl with an accompanying slipmat and t-shirt.


bottom of page